International Student Practice in JINR Fields of Research

The International Student Practice in JINR Fields of Research is a three-week programme aimed at attracting talented young people to the Institute and building awareness of the possibilities of studying and conducting scientific research at JINR.
 

The Practices have been held since 2004 on the initiative of the JINR University Centre, MEPhI, MIPT, universities of Poland, and the Czech Technical University for senior students from the JINR Member States and the countries that have agreements with JINR at the governmental level. More than a thousand representatives of Belarus, Bulgaria, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Ukraine, the Czech Republic have taken part in the event. Since 2007, the Practice has been attended by students from South Africa, since 2009 – by students from Egypt, since 2015 – by representatives of Serbia and Cuba.

Due to the increase in the number of participants, since 2007 the Practice has been held in three stages:

- Stage 1 is held in late May - June;

- Stage 2 is traditionally attended by students in July;

- Stage 3 is organised in September. 


The aim of the Practice is to give interested students an opportunity to:

  • get as much information about the range of scientific research conducted at JINR as possible;

  • perform a research project at the basic experimental facilities of the Institute under the guidance of qualified specialists;

  • meet with the staff members of the Institute and choose a scientific supervisor for the case of visiting JINR for a longer period to prepare a thesis;

  • learn from the lectures by the leading JINR scientists about new problems of modern physics;

  • get acquainted with the Russian culture.

According to the traditional programme, the first days of the Practice are dedicated to introductory lectures and guided tours of the JINR laboratories, while the rest of the time is devoted to the work on research projects under the supervision of JINR specialists. Participants can find the descriptions of the research projects they got interested in on the website and thus choose a project from the list of research projects. Due to the fact that the staff members of the laboratories have to combine scientific supervision of participants with their everyday working duties, the range of projects available for every stage may be different. The last day of the Practice is traditionally devoted to the presentation of project reports made by the students on the work they have performed at JINR. Afterwards, the reports are posted on the website page dedicated to the Practice stage.

Financial terms: to participate in the Practice, it is necessary to pay a Fee that covers the costs of accommodation, meals, social programme, etc. As a rule, the Fee for students from the JINR Member States is paid from the Grants. In addition to the Fee, the costs of travel from the participant’s country to Dubna are covered.

How to apply: it is necessary to choose an ISP stage you can participate in - see below. As a rule, the Fee for students from the JINR Member States is paid from the Grants, therefore in order to apply for the Practice, it is required to contact an authorised representative of your country - see the list below. 

List of national representatives:

 Country  National representative Contact
Azerbaijan  Dr. Yegana Aliyeva  yeganaaliyeva85@gmail.com
Belarus Prof. Yu. A. Fedotova  julia@hep.by
Bulgaria Prof. Plamen Fiziev fiziev@theor.jinr.ru
Cuba Dr. Jose Luis Dona  jld@aenta.cu
Czech Republic Prof. Ivan Stekl ivan.stekl@utef.cvut.cz
Egypt Prof. Hussein EL SAMMAN hsamman@aucegypt.edu
Poland Prof. Roman Zawodny zawodny@amu.edu.pl
Romania Prof. Alexandru Jipa jipa@brahms.fizica.unibuc.ro
Serbia Dr. Srdjan Petrovic  petrovs@vinca.rs
Slovakia Prof. Suzana Dubnickova dubnickova@fmph.uniba.sk
South Africa Prof. Mantile Leslie LEKALA mantile.lekala@gmail.com
Ms. Motsakwe RAKGOALE motsakwe@nrf.ac.za
Dr. Peane Maleka pmaleka@tlabs.ac.za

ISP stages

General list of research projects

Archive of the Practices

Международные студенческие практики по направлениям исследований ОИЯИ – трехнедельные программы, выполняющие важную функцию привлечения талантливой молодежи в Институт, а также являющиеся источником распространения информации о возможностях учебы и научной работы в ОИЯИ.

 

Практики организуются с 2004 года по инициативе УНЦ, МИФИ, МФТИ, польских вузов и Чешского технического университета для студентов старших курсов из стран-участниц ОИЯИ, а также стран, заключивших с ОИЯИ соглашения на правительственном уровне. Более тысячи представителей Беларуси, Болгарии, Польши, Румынии, Сербии, Словакии, Украины, Чехии принимали участие в ее работе. С 2007 года на практику приезжают студенты ЮАР, с 2009 года – студенты из Египта, с 2015  представители Сербии и Кубы.

В связи с увеличением заявок на участие с 2007 года практики проводятся в три этапа: 

- I этап проводится в конце мая - начале июня;

- II этап студенты традиционно посещают в июле;

- III заключительный этап практики организуется в сентябре.


Цель практик – предоставить заинтересованным студентам возможность:

  • получить как можно более полную информацию о программе научных исследований, проводимых в ОИЯИ;
  • выполнить небольшой учебно-исследовательский проект на базовых установках Института под руководством специалистов;
  • познакомиться с персоналом института и, возможно, выбрать себе потенциального научного руководителя на случай визита на более длительный срок для подготовки дипломной работы; 
  • узнать из лекций ведущих ученых о новых современных физических проблемах;
  • познакомиться с культурой России.

Согласно традиционной программе, первые дни практики отводятся ознакомительным лекциям и экскурсиям, основное же время посвящено работе над учебно-исследовательскими проектами под руководством специалистов Лабораторий. Участники имеют возможность заранее познакомиться с описаниями учебно-исследовательских проектов и выбрать интересующее их научное направление в списке учебно-исследовательских проектов. В связи с тем, что руководство работой практикантов осуществляют сотрудники Лабораторий параллельно со своей основной работой, количество проектов для каждого этапа практики различно. Последний день практики традиционно посвящен отчетам-презентациям студентов о работе над проектами, которые затем размещаются на странице сайта, посвященной этому этапу практики.


Финансовые условия: для участия в практике Вы должны оплатить организационный взнос, который покрывает расходы, связанные с проживанием, питанием, оплатой культурной программы и т.д.  Как правило, студентам из стран-участниц ОИЯИ организационный взнос оплачивается из специальных грантов (именно для этого Вы должны предварительно установить контакт с представителем Вашей страны). Кроме организационного взноса данным участникам оплачивается дорога от места их проживания до Дубны.

Что нужно, чтобы принять участие в практике

Список учебно-исследовательских проектов

Проведенные практики