About Dubna

Dubna is one of relatively new towns of Russia and Moscow region. It is worldwide known as one of the largest scientific centers. Scientists from various countries have been fruitfully working together here for more than 60 years. It is the sole Russian town which has been perpetuated in Mendeleev’s Periodic Table of Elements: the element 105 discovered by the scientists of the town is called “Dubnium”.

Dubna is 125 km away from Moscow, it is situated in a picturesque corner of the Northern part of Moscow Region. Its population is 75,000 people (2016). Since 2001 Dubna has been a Science Town of the Russian Federation. National issues in the area of fundamental science, national defense and production of high-tech equipment models are successfully implemented here.

Dubna was granted the status of a town on June 24th, 1956, due to the establishment of the Joint Institute for Nuclear Research, an international scientific center, the same years in March.

The development of Dubna town, its enterprises and research organizations was directly supported by such eminent people of national science and technology as A.M.Baldin, N.N. Bogolyubov, D.I. Blokhintsev, V.I. Wexler, V.P. Dzhelepov, I.V. Kurchatov, A.P. Logunov, M.A. Markov, M.G. Meshcheryakov, B.M. Pontecorvo, Yu.Ts. Oganesyan, G.N. Flerov, I.M. Frank, F.L. Shapiro, D. Shirkov, A.Ja. Bereznyak, A.I. Mikoyan, A.N. Tupolev, S.I. Chetverikov.

JINR, with 18 Member States, remains a world recognized leader in many areas of scientific research

In 1994 the State University Dubna was established.

Among guests of the town there are such national and foreign State figures as N. Bohr, P. Dirac, J.F. Joliot-Curie, E. McMillan, G. Seaborg etc. Such academicians as A.P. Alexandrov, N.A. Dollezhal, M.V. Keldysh, L.D. Landau, A.A. Mintz, D.V. Skobeltsyn etc.worked in cooperation with scientists and experts from Dubna.

(Photos of Dubna sights by Andrey Olontsev and Sergey Dolya)

 

Useful links

Map of the Institute part of the town

Timetable of local trains and tickets online

Schedule of Dubna-Moscow shuttle bus

Dubna hotels

Weather in Dubna 


Bolshaya Volga train station on the map 

JINR LNP Site security gate on the map

JINR LHEP Site security gate on the map

Hotel “Grill” on the map  

JINR administrative building on the map

Hospital (nearest to the JINR) on the map

Pharmacy (nearest to the JINR) on the map  


Cafes and restaurants in Dubna

Leisure in Dubna

О Дубне 

Дубна – один из молодых городов России и Московской области. Он известен в мире как крупнейший научный центр. Здесь более полувека плодотворно сотрудничают ученые многих стран мира. Это единственный российский населенный пункт, увековеченный в Периодической таблице элементов Д.И. Менделеева: «дубнием» называется открытый учеными города 105 химический элемент.

Дубна находится в 125 км от Москвы в живописном уголке Северного Подмосковья, на берегу р. Волги. В ней проживает 75 тыс.человек (2016). С 2001 года – наукоград Российской Федерации. Здесь успешно реализуются национальные задачи в области фундаментальной науки, обороны страны и производства наукоемких образцов техники. 

Дубна получила статус города 24 июля 1956 года, что было связано с созданием в марте того же года Объединенного института ядерных исследований  международного научного центра. 

Становление и развитие г.Дубны, предприятий и научных организаций проходило при непосредственном участии таких видных деятелей отечественной науки и техники, как А.М. Балдин, Н.Н. Боголюбов, Д.И. Блохинцев, В.И. Векслер, В.П. Джелепов, И.В. Курчатов, А.П. Логунов, М.А. Марков, М.Г. Мещеряков, Б.М. Понтекорво, Ю.Ц. Оганесян, Г.Н. Флеров, И.М. Франк, Ф.Л. Шапиро, Д.В. Ширков, А.Я. Березняк, А.И. Микоян, А.Н. Туполев, С.И. Четвериков.

Признанным лидером во многих направлениях научных исследований остается ОИЯИ, членами которого являются 18 государств. 

С 1994 года здесь работает Государственный университет «Дубна». 

Гостями города были государственные деятели нашей страны и различных зарубежных стран, выдающиеся физики Н.Бор, П.Дирак, Ф.Жолио-Кюри, Э. Макмиллан, Г. Сиборг и др. С дубненскими учеными и специалистами плодотворно сотрудничали академики А.П. Александров, Н.А. Долежаль, М.В. Келдыш, Л.Д. Ландау, А.А. Минц, Д.В. Скобельцын и др. 

(Фото видов Дубны: Андрей Олонцев, Сергей Доля)

 

Полезные ссылки:

Карта институтской части города

Расписание поездов и покупка билетов онлайн

Расписание автобусов Дубна-Москва

Гостиницы Дубны

Погода в Дубне


Вокзалы Дубны на карте: "Дубна" / "Большая Волга"

Проходная ЛЯП на карте

Проходная ЛФВЭ на карте

Гостиница «Гриль» на карте

Административное здание ОИЯИ на карте

Ближайшая к ОИЯИ больница на карте

Ближайшее к ОИЯИ отделение скорой помощи на карте

Ближайшая к ОИЯИ аптека на карте


Рестораны и кафе Дубны

Свободное время в Дубне