UC Mission

Being an international scientific research organisation, the Joint Institute for Nuclear Research has a great potential in the areas of education and training in the disciplines which correspond to its main research areas. While providing a formal education, like that of a university, is not a purpose of the Institute, graduate and postgraduate students from the Member States can join diverse research teams of JINR Laboratories to be trained in physics, engineering, computer science, etc. To ensure the effective use of JINR facilities and expertise to train highly qualified scientists and engineers from the Member States, in 1991 the University Centre was established. After a quarter of a century of fruitful work, JINR UC performs the following types of activities: 


 

Educational opportunities for students from JINR Member States 

The first priority of UC remains the reception of students from the Member States, who arrive at JINR Laboratories to prepare their BSc, MSc and PhD theses. UC takes care of their accommodation and provides the necessary assistance during their stay in Dubna. Selected lecture courses are organised by UC in accordance with the curricula of the mother universities, provided there is a mutual agreement in this matter between JINR and the university.

 

Summer educational programmes for students

An important task of UC is to organise educational summer programmes for undergraduate students. These include both a series of short-term (International Student Practice) and long-term (Summer Student Programme) programmes for students from the Member States. The key aim is to engage undergraduate students in the day-to-day work of the research teams in JINR Laboratories. It is an excellent opportunity to get familiar with the JINR environment and to make valuable contacts with other students and scientists. Having participated in the summer programmes, many students return to the Institute to work on their MSc and PhD theses.

 

Engineering and Physics Training

One of the recently emerged activities of UC is the Engineering and Physics Training for graduate and postgraduate students and young scientists from the Member States. It is obvious that many of the skills required for an accelerator engineer or an experimental physicist cannot be taught at a university, as not every university can offer modern accelerators and experimental facilities to work at. The Engineering and Physics Training includes a series of courses in various fields, ranging from the basics of nuclear physics and radiation protection, to the particle detector physics, RF and vacuum technology, beam diagnostics and automation of physics setups. In the nearest future, as soon as the linear accelerator Linac-800 is commissioned, it will be possible to perform certain lab works using the accelerator beams.

 

Outreach programmes

JINR UC outreach programmes are an integral part of its activity. The aim is to bring up-to-date scientific knowledge to the general public and to highlight recent scientific achievements of JINR. A growing interest in science is an effective tool of attracting young people to the Institute. 

This activity is performed following several directions: scientific conferences for school students, international scientific schools for physics teachers at JINR and in CERN, Physics Days in Dubna, festivals of science, UC-based Physics Lab for school students, 3D tours of the JINR laboratories, videoconferences, etc.

Миссия УНЦ

Являясь международной научно-исследовательской организацией, Объединенный институт ядерных исследований имеет большой потенциал в сфере образования и обучения дисциплинам, совпадающим с основными направлениями его исследований. Хотя классическое университетское образование не является целью института, студентам и аспирантам из государств-членов предоставляется уникальная возможность присоединиться к различным исследовательским группам лабораторий ОИЯИ для работы в области физики, инженерных наук, информатики и др. Для обеспечения эффективного использования ресурсов института для подготовки высококвалифицированных ученых и инженеров из государств-членов ОИЯИ в 1991 году был создан Учебно-научный центр. Спустя четверть века успешной работы УНЦ осуществляет следующие виды деятельности:


 

Образовательные возможности для студентов и аспирантов из государств-членов

Одним из приоритетов УНЦ остается прием студентов из государств-членов, приезжающих в лаборатории ОИЯИ для подготовки своих квалификационных работ: бакалаврских, магистерских и кандидатских диссертаций. Мы оказываем поддержку в организации их приезда, встречи и размещения, а также обеспечиваем необходимую помощь на протяжении их пребывания в Дубне. При условии наличия соответствующего соглашения между ОИЯИ и университетом государства-члена, УНЦ организует специальные курсы лекций в соответствии с учебным планом данного университета.

 

Летние образовательные программы для студентов

Важной задачей УНЦ является организация летних образовательных программ для студентов. Они включают в себя как ряд краткосрочных (Международные студенческие практики), так и долгосрочные (Летняя студенческая программа) программы для студентов из государств-членов. Цель этих мероприятий – дать студентам возможность присоединиться к повседневной работе исследовательских групп в лабораториях ОИЯИ. Это шанс погрузиться в научную жизнь института и наладить ценные контакты с другими студентами и учеными. Приняв участие в летних программах, многие из студентов возвращаются в институт, чтобы работать над своими магистерскими и кандидатскими диссертациями.

 

Инженерно-физический практикум

Одним из недавно возникших направлений деятельности Учебно-научного центра стал инженерно-физический практикум для студентов, аспирантов и молодых ученых из стран-участниц ОИЯИ. Не секрет, что многие практические навыки, необходимые для инженера-ускорительщика или физика-экспериментатора, невозможно получить в университете, поскольку не каждый университет имеет в своем распоряжении современные ускорители и экспериментальные установки. В рамках создаваемого практикума запланирована серия учебно-практических курсов в различных областях, начиная с основ ядерной физики и радиационной безопасности, до устройства ускорителей и детекторов элементарных частиц, СВЧ- и вакуумной техники, методов диагностики пучка и автоматизации физических установок. В ближайшем будущем, после ввода в эксплуатацию ускорителя электронов Линак-800, часть этих работ можно будет выполнять непосредственно на пучках ускорителя.

 

Популяризация науки

Программы ОИЯИ по популяризации науки являются неотъемлемой составляющей деятельности УНЦ. Их цель – распространение современных научных знаний среди широкой аудитории и освещение последних достижений ОИЯИ. Растущий интерес к науке является эффективным инструментом привлечения талантливой молодёжи в Институт.

Данный вид деятельности осуществляется по нескольким направлениям: научно-исследовательские конференции для школьников, международные научные школы для учителей физики в ОИЯИ и CERN, Дни физики в Дубне, фестивали науки, работа в школьном практикуме УНЦ, экскурсии и виртуальные визиты в лаборатории ОИЯИ, а также видеоконференции.